Note: Hi, friends! Just a a quick reminder – some of the links on this site are affiliate links, and so I may earn a little cash on qualifying orders. It doesn’t cost you anything extra, and is a nice way to help support this site! I also want to point out that I don’t promote products I haven’t actually tried or products that I don’t trust. 🙂
As you have probably figured out from the multitude of pumpkin, apple and other fall-themed recipes that I keep posting, I really love fall. It’s definitely my favorite season – cozy sweaters, warm beverages, beautiful scenery (I live in a pretty heavily wooded area of New England, and realize how spoiled I am) – what’s not to love? Unfortunately, this lasts about three weeks before everything gets cold and gray and you really have to motivate yourself to get out of bed in the morning. Just me? Never mind then… The good news is that late fall/early winter is the perfect time to start making deliciously spiced drinks. While hot chocolate is my stand-by winter beverage, it’s rapidly giving way to my new obsession: vegan keto eggnog.
I know what you’re thinking – eggnog literally has the word “egg” in it. How in the world am I going to make a vegan version of this? And more importantly, how am I going to make a vegan keto eggnog that doesn’t separate in the fridge?? I’ve tried out a lot of recipes for vegan eggnog before, and they all either been loaded with sugar, or separated out in the fridge…or both. It’s not a huge deal, but usually when the eggnog separates, it’s because the coconut cream has separated out and solidified, so it’s not even like shaking the container fixes it. You have to reheat it, and I just don’t have the patience for that.
Another factor in coming up with this recipe was to make it as accessible as possible to the majority of people. As you can tell from my recipes, I really try to accommodate a lot of food intolerances, allergies and sensitivities. So, this recipe is not only a dairy-free and egg-free eggnog, it’s also soy-free and gluten-free (which isn’t that hard with drinks…) and has options to be both nut-free and coconut-free. So, keto eggnog for everyone! I hope you guys enjoy this recipe! I’d love to know if you make it – feel free to tag me on instagram or leave a comment below. 🙂
Egg-free, Dairy-free Vegan Keto “Eggnog” Notes and Substitutions
- This festive beverage can be enjoyed cold, or heated up on the stove.
- To make this recipe nut-free, substitute an equal measure of sunflower seeds for the walnuts.
- To make this recipe without protein powder, you can simply replace it with powdered coconut milk.
- To make sure that this eggnog is super creamy, you could strain out any remaining larger pieces of nut/seed/seasoning with a nut-milk bag or sieve. I use this set of nut-milk bags, which work wonderfully.
- If you don’t have any granulated sweetener on hand, you could use liquid stevia or a sugar-free syrup. Start with 1/8 tsp of the stevia, and go from there. It can get to be too much really easily!
- Be sure to blend for at least a full minute on high to make sure everything comes out smooth.
- Nutritional information may change depending on what ingredients or brands you use. I do my best to provide accurate information, but small differences are to be expected!
Egg-free, Dairy-free Vegan Keto “Eggnog”
- 3 cups 720ml unsweetened non-dairy milk or water
- 1 cup 120g raw, unsalted pecans
- 1/4 cup 28g vanilla protein powder
- 2 tbsp granulated sweetener I used the "golden" variety
- 1 tsp vanilla extract
- 1 tsp ground nutmeg
- pinch cinnamon or allspice
- tiny pinch salt
- Using a high speed blender, blend all ingredients together until completely smooth. This was about 90 seconds for me, starting on a low level and working up to high for the last 30 seconds.
- If you want the eggnog to be super smooth, you can strain it using a nut-milk bag. You can also skip this step completely, though!
- Serve chilled, or warm up on the stove to a toasty treat.
7 thoughts on “Egg-free, Dairy-free Vegan Keto “Eggnog””
The second line of your notes refers to walnuts, but the ingredient list calls for pecans. Which is correct, please?
Hi Melanie! The ingredients list is correct, however walnuts can be used as a substitute for the pecans. It looks like the note stating that bit got cut off, so thank you for pointing this out! 🙂
Could raw cashews or almonds be used instead of walnuts or pecans? I have a sensitivity to both of those. Thanks!
Hi Lindsay, absolutely! 🙂
How can I make this nut free as well as dairy and egg free?
Hi Keli! The recipe notes mention that you can substitute sunflower seeds for the nuts. It won’t taste exactly the same, but it’s pretty close! I prefer using roasted sunflower seeds for this as it just didn’t taste as good to me with raw ones. 🙂
Excited to make this! We have plain protein powder – should we use that and add vanilla or can we just leave it out? Thanks!